Pöstlingberg is a district of Linz in the northernmost part of the city and one of the most important sights.
Pöstlingberg is situated on a hill with a height of 539 metres.
The religious history of the place started in 1716 when a man called
Franz Obermayr put up a Pietà on the weather cross which was standing
on the top of the hill. Already in 1720 pilgrims started to climb the
hill and a wooden chapel was built. In 1742 the erection of the
Pöstlingberg church started and opened 6 years later.
The station of the Pöstlingberg railway, the Zahnradbahn.
The Pöstlingberg became more and more popular as a holiday destination
for the people in and around Linz. In 1747 the first restaurant was
opened. It was the Kirchenwirt which still remains.
A wagon of the Zahnradbahn to the Pöstlingberg hill.
In 1809 French soldiers of Napoleon's army removed the forest from the
top of the hill to have a perfect outlook over Linz and the area
around. Before the French were able to cut down the trees on the
Pöstlingberg, they had to beat the Austrian army which tried to attack
the French from the top of the hill. In 1830 a fortress was built by
the Austrian army and the rest of the forest was cut down. According to
the experience of the battle against the French on that place, the
Pöstlingberg became an important strategic place for the military.
The castle on the Pöstlingberg offers also food and drinks.
The Pöstlingberg church.
The way back ...